The more I have the worse off I am

“Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.”  Psalm 20:7.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 10, 1 Chronicles 19-20, Psalm 20, and Matthew 22.

There is a good reason why the wealthy have a hard time coming to God: They trust in what they have to carry the day.

When trouble comes our way, where do we turn?  Often it is to those we love.  We seek their advice, their comfort.  And that advice and comfort may be important.

However, if we truly believe that God is in charge of everything, it would make better sense to turn to Him.  He may then direct us to family etc., for the help they can provide.  The starting point must be God.

It is so easy to assume we are immune to trouble because of what we have.  My house has a roof but there are trees nearby that would crash through that roof if they fell our way.  I am NOT immune and I must live accordingly.

“Living accordingly” means that I am trusting Him for ultimate protection.  He knows the pitfalls that are in my midst.

I have a suspicion that one of the revelations in the after-life will be insight into the many ways God has spared us from trouble.  We take our daily survival for granted unaware that God is in those details.

“O Lord, forgive me for minimizing You.  Thank You for protecting me.  Thank You for health and strength.  All are gifts from You.  Thank You for family.  Thank You for housing and transportation.  Forgive me for relying on those things.  For trusting those things ahead of You.  I love You, Father.”

Do you trust in God FIRST?  Sorting out your trust pecking order is crucial.

St. Lucia

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.