End times

“Then you will be handed over to be persecuted and put to death, and you will be hated by all nations because of me.  At that time many will turn away from the faith and will betray and hate each other, and many false prophets will appear and deceive many people.”  Matthew 24:9-11.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 13-14, and Matthew 24.

We in the United States live a sheltered life.

In parts of the world there are Christians who would read today’s verses and tell us that it is already coming to pass.  We know little of it.

If being a Christian costs me something, would I still be one?

Would I sell out in crunch time?

I believe that Christians in the US, and I include myself, are soft.  When the going gets tough there is not telling what we would do to make things better for ourselves.

Today’s verses are talking about believers turning against, and turning in, other believers.  Things are going to be very bad.

I must prepare myself spiritually for the worst.  I must imagine that I no longer have a Bible.  That I no longer have a church and Bible studies that I can attend.  That I can no longer travel freely or communicate freely. That those that I thought loved me are now against me because of my beliefs.  It is not a pretty picture!

How can I prepare for this?  I must not assume that I have tomorrow.  I must be tight with God TODAY.  I must be clean before Him.  I must be a Godly light to those in my midst.  There may not be a tomorrow BUT I know that God oversees what does happen.  We win in the end.  I must cling to Him in the meantime.

“Lord, forgive me for gliding along in my walk with You.  I must take note of what is happening and will happen.  I must be in preparation mode.  I must begin to assume that there may be many “do-without’s” ahead.  I must know You better.  I must cling to You.  You are my God.”

Are you unfazed by the reality of the end times?  Trust the Word.  It’ll happen.

St. Lucia

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.