I can do better!

“As for other matters, brothers and sisters, we instructed you how to live in order to please God, as in fact you are living.  Now we ask you and urge you in the Lord Jesus to do this more and more.”  1 Thessalonians 4:1.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Chronicles 25-27, and 1 Thessalonians 4.

Pleasing God must be the driver in our lives.

We want to be connected to Him in better and better ways so that we will know what He wants.

We will not get this done in one sitting.  We need to be constantly looking for ways to serve Him more adequately.  Some of our previous methods might need to be discontinued.

Studying and praying, with an open mind, are helpful ways to know Him better.  I must question, “We’ve always done it that way,” as a reason for doing something.  Is there Scripture regarding that activity that we can apply?

I love going to Bible studies and listening to sermons.  I have been through the Bible daily for almost seven years.  This activity had given me a familiarity with Scripture.  However, I often get new slants on verses I’ve studied when I attend Bible studies and listen to sermons with an open mind.

God wants us to be active.  We must never stop learning.  We must never stop discovering how amazing He is.  Let’s get to it!

“Lord, push me to learn/apply Your truths.  I want to be an active follower of You.  Forgive my laziness.  I have so much reading material in my office that would surely help me to know You better.  Empower me to lessen my shallowness regarding You.  I love You, Lord.”

Keep your relationship with God up-to-date.  Yesterday is gone.  Are you attached to Him today?

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Thessalonians

Comments are closed.