Good fatherly advice

“And you, my son Solomon, acknowledge the God of your father; and serve him with wholehearted devotion and with a willing mind, for the Lord searches every heart and understands every desire and every thought.”  1 Chronicles 28:9.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 1:1, 1 Chronicles 28, Psalm 91, and 1 Thessalonians 5.

Great words from a father to his son.

Great words for any of us, as well.

Our commitment to God must be genuine.  The twice a week “fill-ups” are not enough.  Our approach must be continual.  We do not ever want to be away from Him.

I want, also, to be open-minded to what He wants me to do. His plans may involve continuing as I have been going or they could involve a chance of course, a completely new direction.  I must actively seek His Will.

God knows what I can do….and can’t do.  He knows the settings I will represent Him best in.  I want to be in those places!

My relationship to Him must be authentic.  I will never fool Him.  He knows what I think!

“Lord, I need You every second.  I want to always be pleasing You.  Prick my conscience when I am missing what You want me to do or doing something You want me to stop doing.  I must get my relationship with You right.  Help me, I beg, to do this.  I love You, Lord.”

Our Father is giving us some good advice.  Will we heed it?

St. Lucia

Leave a comment

Filed under I Chronicles

Comments are closed.