What the end of life looks like

“He will punish those who do not know God and do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus.  They will be punished with everlasting destruction and shut out from the presence of the Lord and from the glory of his might on the day he comes to be glorified in his holy people to be marveled at among all those who have believed.”  2 Thessalonians 1:8-10.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 2, 1 Chronicles 29, Psalm 95, and 2 Thessalonians 1.

Trying to figure out what the “end game” looks like?

Many wonder what will happen.  Theories abound.

Today’s verses seem clear to me.

There will be punishment in the end game.  There will also be “marveling” at Him.

If I reject the Gospel, I will pay dearly for it in the end game.  The Gospel is Good News: God/Jesus has taken care of my sin problem.  The risen Jesus has given me new life unburdened by the consequences of my sinfulness.  If I believe those truths and act accordingly then I will be among the “marveling.”  If I hear those truths and don’t live accordingly, or if I reject those truths. I will be punished.

The punishment will not be a slap on the wrist, or “Do better next time.”  It will be EVERLASTING!

“Lord, thank You for Your clarity regarding the end game in today’s verses.  We will all appear before You and be cleared or punished.  Open these truths to every reader.  They desperately need to get the end game thing right.  I love You, Father.”

Have you got the end game figured out?  I wouldn’t wait much longer for that to happen, if I were you.

St. Lucia

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Thessalonians

Comments are closed.