What does rightly representing God look like to others?

“And Hiram added: ‘Praise be to the Lord, the God of Israel, who made heaven and earth!  He has given King David a wise son (Solomon), endowed with intelligence and discernment.’”  2 Chronicles 2:12.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 4-5, 2 Chronicles 2, Psalm 101, and 2 Thessalonians 3.

Hiram was the King of Tyre.  Solomon had negotiated a deal with Hiram to get the temple built.

Ordinary dealings with neighbors usually involved military might with the loser turning over to the winner everything they had.  Solomon went about things differently and Hiram took note of it.

Hiram credited God for Solomon’s behavior.  That was how extraordinary the behavior was.  Is my behavior Godly?

The New Testament is filled with behavioral recommendations for every level of society.  There are no levels in which selfishness is advised.  Love for all others carries the day.

Because of my part-time job, I have gotten a good taste of what it is to work for someone else.  There are guidelines that I’m expected to follow.  There have been times when a boss told me that I had done things wrong.  I didn’t like to hear that!  However, if I want to rightly represent the company, then I must do the jobs assigned correctly.

God has expectations of me, too.  I must ever-so-frequently make certain that I am doing what He wants and avoiding the things He wants me avoiding.  I can never assume that I will figure things out apart from Him.

I do NOT need the praise of others if I am doing what God wants.  Why?  Because He is more important to me than others are.  If I am doing what He wants then we are both pleased.  That’s enough for me.

“Lord, I am intent on rightly representing You everywhere and in everything.  I cannot do this without being filled entirely with Your Holy Spirit.  I ask for that filling right now.  Take me over.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.  I love You, Lord.”

I must do, in His strength, what He wants in every situation.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.