Why did I do that?

“Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images made to look like a mortal human being and birds and animals and reptiles.  THEREFORE, God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts………”  Romans 1:22-24.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 6, 2 Chronicles 3, Psalm 97, and Romans 1.

I am not a robot.  I have a mind of my own.  That’s the way God made me.

I can do what I please………..and I can suffer the consequences.

I do not know what is best but when I forget that, and act accordingly, I get what I deserve.

Think Prodigal son.  He wanted to do his own thing and went off and did it.  Surely, he knew that his choice might not end well, but off he went.

I do the same thing.  I know the consequences of certain behaviors yet I do them anyhow.  Why doesn’t God stop me?  He gave me a free will.

God created me to love Him. He wanted my love for Him to be my own idea.  Genuine love would have to be that way.

My relationship to God cannot casual.  It must be second-by-second.  I cannot let go of it.

The closer I am to Him the better my life will be. No matter what happens I will have Him close by.  When I drift apart from Him, I surrender His support.  I need that support desperately.

“Lord, how inexcusable are my wanderings away from You.  I know better.  I have history with You.  Help me to connect to You full-time.  You are my God.  I love You, Lord.”

Blaming God for my sinfulness is a joke!  I make the choices.  I choose the roads I take.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.