Must my setting dictate my praises to God?

“Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth, burst into jubilant song with music; make music to the Lord with the harp, with the harp and the sound of singing.”  Psalm 98:4-5.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 7, 2 Chronicles 4, Psalm 98, and Romans 2.

I really enjoy the praise music I hear at my church.  The words are posted and familiar and the enthusiasm in the gathering is noticeable.

I raise my hands.  I sing loudly (off key?).  I close my eyes.  I weep and I rejoice.  It is uplifting.

But then it’s over and home I go.  The week unfolds and I’m off to work.

Where did the level of praise from the Sunday music go?  I have music in the house and in the car that I sing along with.  That helps but am I still praising Him in the rest of my life.

I often lose track of God.  When I’m heading to work, I pray but often during work my concentration is on the task at hand.

As I write this I wonder where the radiance I felt during worship singing goes.  Recall that Moses had to wear a veil when he came back from visiting with God.  No veil needed for me!  And that’s sad because in a one-on-one conversation on what I believe, I would declare how important God is to me.  But why doesn’t that fact evidence itself wherever I am located?

I think it is because I am not saturated with God.  I have His Holy Spirit, but to what degree?  There should not be parts of my day where I do not marvel at having Him in my life?

“You are a great God.  You are worthy of all my praise.  Empower me to be consistently praising You.  To be consistently aware of You.  I love You enough so that my praises should be steady and even loud.  Fill my every part with You.  I love You, Lord.”

I have a never-ending flow of reasons to praise God.  Why do I stop doing it then?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.