Getting right with God

“This righteousness is given through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe.  There is no difference between Jew and Gentile, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.  God presented Christ as a sacrifice of atonement through the shedding of his blood – to be received by faith.”  Romans 3:22-25.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 8, 2 Chronicles 5, Psalm 99, and Romans 3.

I am right with God even though I haven’t earned that right.

What I deserve is separation from God because I am a sinner.

But God loves me.  He created me to love Him back.  I fail at it even though I try hard not to fail.  Sin is in me.

I am like everyone else.  I am unworthy of God.

How grateful I must be that God did something about my sin problem.  He sent His Son Jesus to earth to remove the deserved consequence of my sinfulness…….eternal separation.

When Jesus died, He took my sins (past/present/future) with Him to death.  My sins were atoned for, taken care of.

Three days later God brought Jesus back to new life minus the sins He had died with.

Because of Jesus’s death I likewise have new life unburdened by sins.  I am in the clear before God.  Hallelujah!

The Gospel is Good News: God/Jesus have taken care of our sin problem and given us new life.  We are now cleared before God and must live accordingly.  Jesus is coming back and we must prepare the world for His return.

News, however, must be believed.  There are many who reject the News.  “Can’t be true.”  “Just a myth.”

Trust me, it happened.  Those who don’t believe are still living in sin and there will be an eternal consequence for them.

“Lord, I thank You for Your Word.  I thank You for taking care of our sin problem.  I thank You personally for the new life I have without sin’s burden to worry me.  I am in the clear with You.  Judgment Day will bear this out.  Hallelujah!”

Are you in the clear with God?  Believe the Good News and act accordingly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.