My words reveal the quality of my heart

“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.  Keep your mouth free of perversity; keep corrupt talk far from your lips.” Proverbs 4:23-24.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Proverbs 4-6, and Romans 8.

The condition of my heart is revealed in what I say.

This is a cold, hard fact.

I can pretend otherwise.  I can rationalize ‘til the cows come home.  None of this veers from the truth that my words tell the story of what I’m really like.

I get into trouble with words far too frequently.  I say things I regret and regularly must backtrack from them.  That’s bad enough but the reality is deeper: My heart is NOT right with God.  If it was, the unkind words would stop flowing.

For me the heart-revealing words often flow during reactions.  Given time to plan words, I have fewer issues.  When someone confronts me or things don’t go my way, then the gloves come off…………and they shouldn’t.

I know that this behavior is wrong.  My only consolation is that it gets me up-to-date on the condition of my heart.

The bottom line is that what comes out of my mouth reveals the condition of my heart.  I wish that the condition of my heart was better!

“Lord, forgive me for betraying our relationship with unkind words.  I do what I don’t want to do.  Help me, Lord.  I surrender to You full-time.  I love You, Lord.”

Sadly, my words often reveal an unclean heart.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Proverbs

Comments are closed.