Location, location, location

“To those who have no sense she says, ‘Come, eat my food and drink the wine I have mixed.  Leave your simple ways and you will live; walk in the way of insight.’”  Proverbs 9:4-6.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Proverbs 7-9, and Romans 9.

Where must a believer be?  Near to God.

After years of life, I classify myself as one who often has “no sense.”

Too often I do things, say things, that are a bad ideas.  They hurt others as well as myself.

I must draw night to God.  I must be in His presence all the time.

I like the Brother Lawrence lines; “Think about God as often as you can, day and night, in everything you do.  He is always with you.  Just as you would be rude if you deserted a friend who was visiting you, why would you be disrespectful of God by abandoning His presence?”

There are good things given to me if I am close to God.  They are what I need to live a Godly life.

Yet often I choose to try to live elsewhere.  Proverbs describes such actions as folly and that they are.

“Lord, I know that being close to You is the best thing for me.  Yet I choose often to live apart from You.  To ignore You.  Forgive me.  It is unadulterated folly to do such a thing.  I know better.  I need You badly, Father.  I cling to You now.”

I must consciously situate myself in God’s presence.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.