No one listens to me!

“The lips of the righteous nourish many, but fools die for lack of sense.”  Proverbs 10:21.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Proverbs 10-12, and Romans 10.

My words are supposed to be nourishing.

How can my words be nourishing?  The synonym I liked best for nourishing is “beneficial.”

If someone is having a problem and I pile on verbally, I’m not benefiting the hearer in the least.

“You should have known better,” is a killer starter!

I know plenty of words.  Shouldn’t I be able, as a professed Godly person, to find some words that will benefit listeners?  I would say “Yes” to that question.

A “fool,” according to today’s verse, will offer words that are not beneficial.

I have been studying the book of James in church in recent weeks.  Plenty of talk about words.  At one point the minister told me that words are a gift to others.

I want my words to be received gladly.  The listener will do that if they already know that I love them and will offer them loving words.

Sometimes the best thing for me to say is nothing!  That’s hard if I assume that I have the answer needed for everything.

If I know that a person loves me then I will not hesitate to seek responses from them.  I’ll share my issues and respect what they tell me.

My words must be God’s Words.  If my words are my words only, I will mess things up.

“Lord, I want my words to be gifts.  I want them to be the right “gift” for each person I converse with.  I must have You in charge of me to have the right words for each person.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

My words must benefit others.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Proverbs

Comments are closed.