I can’t stop talking

“The one who has knowledge uses words with restraint, and whoever has understanding is even-tempered.”  Proverbs 17:27.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Proverbs 16-18, and Romans 12.

Do you have to have the last word, first word, and most of the words in between?

Some of us are like that.  We are so smart and so sure of ourselves that we just have to share and share.

Today’s verse would suggest a different approach for the well-informed: restraint.

Our words betray us on many levels.  They certainly reveal what our hearts are like.

Another issue with “over” talking is that people get tired of listening.  They tune out.

If I have something Godly to say, I need to present it with Godly timeliness.  God prepares my words.  God prepares my listeners.

So many words come at us via the media.  I have a mute button and I use it plenty.  I cannot listen to commercials.

I want to nourish others with my words.  I want my words to be gifts that listeners are happy to receive.  Only by walking close to God can I make sure that this happens.

“Lord, may the words of my mouth be pleasing to You.  Prick my conscience when I am abusing listeners.  I love You, Father.”

What does our talking sound like to others?

Leave a comment

Filed under Proverbs

Comments are closed.