No one listens to me!

“One who loves a pure heart and who speaks with grace will have the king for a friend.”  Proverbs 22:11.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Proverbs 22-24, and Romans 14.

What I say is the overflow of my heart.  If my heart is pure then good things will flow from me.

My speech must be gracious.  The synonym I’ll go with is “tactful.”  That means “timing” to me.  There is a time and place for things to be said.  The ideal would be the right words at the right time.

If my heart is filled with God and my verbal timing is right, others will be drawn to converse with me.

I am learning so many things as I read Scripture.  I find that the most obvious (Why didn’t I figure that out?) things have escaped me.  In this verse, I learn that I am the one who affects how a conversation goes.  There’s no reason to badly react to a disinterested listener. The responsibility for a Godly conversation is on me.  It is all yet another reason for attaching myself to God at the get-go of each day and not letting go thereafter.

There also is the piece in this about doing something to get something.  I should not imagine myself as Godly and therefore assume that I will be showered with listeners.  If I am Godly, my verbal content and timing will carry the day.  What happens to me in that mode is in God’s Hands whether the reaction to my words is good or bad.

“Lord, You are great and I am often a fool.  My words betray me.  They reveal the shallowness of my relationship to You.  Even when I am close to You my words are often untimely.  O Lord, I need Your help.  Take every aspect of my life over.  None works right without You.  I love You, Father.”

I must be filled with God and Godly-appropriate in my conversations.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Proverbs

Comments are closed.