Sweet talk

“By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naïve people.”  Romans 16:18.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Proverbs 28-29, Psalm 60, and Romans 16.

When should I stop learning about God?  Silliest question you’ve heard today, right!

I always need to be in the learning mode.

I like to be in Bible studies or church services and hear references to familiar Scripture.  Having been into the Bible every day for 6+ years, it acquires a familiarity.  I know the stories and have heard/read discussions of various Scriptures.

HOWEVER, I need to examine the Word.  I need to be prepared to take in new insights from the Bible.

Recently a minister got me up to speed on the setting in which a book in the New Testament was written.  Knowing of the setting, helped me to understand the content of that NT book better.

Many in our culture are Sunday-only followers.  I wonder how they can claim familiarity with God that way.  I must NOT, however, be elevating myself because of my nearness to the Word.  I have so much to learn and must continue to have a thirst to know more.

“Lord, fill me with Your Wisdom.  Open Your Word to me.  It is my life’s manual.  Help me to understand and apply what is in it.  I love You, Father.”

Am I spiritually strong enough to resist the Devil’s sweet talk?

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.