My wife and I have problems

“Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.”  Proverbs 31:28.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading; Proverbs 30-31, Psalm 33, and Ephesians 1.

Married couples without problems?  Be real!

If you don’t have any problems, then you probably don’t live close to your partner for extended periods of time.

It is a natural thing to have disagreements.  What also must become “natural” is understanding why they happen.

In today’s verse, you realize that the family described has children who are well trained.  They know what their mother does for them and they appreciate it.

Where would a child acquire such an attitude?  In a family where the husband sets a Godly tone.

The child has heard his father praise the child’s mother.  The child is alerted to the good things the mother does and knows the proper responses to give.

My wife needs to know that I appreciate her.  Someone who is heavily appreciated can weather criticism because they have a backlog of examples proving that the critic loves them.

In my household, I’m too quick to criticize and too slow to praise.  Hence the occurrence of disagreements.

I should know better but often do not.

“Lord, forgive me for my regrettable words to those in my midst.  I love them, yet often my words betray that sentiment.  Prick my conscience so that I get this right.  I love You, Father.  I love my wife.”

When I praise my wife I benefit her and my children.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Proverbs

Comments are closed.