Beyond your wildest dream

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine…” Ephesians 3:20.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ecclesiastes 4-6, Psalm 18, and Ephesians 3.

My dreams are usually connected to something that has happened.

What Paul is talking about here are things beyond our imagination.

Part of our confusion about the after-life is that we imagine it in our own terms.  We look around us and imagine what God could make it like.  We have no idea!

I think that in our lives we have moments where we get a little peak at what the after-life might be like.  It happened to me one time when walking through a graveyard to a burial site.  Leading the way was a saxophone player with great musical skills.  What he was playing I don’t remember but it was a moment when I thought the heavens opened and a wonderful light shone on the gathering.

I have thought on recent days about a time ahead when there will be no decay, no pain, and no suffering.  In our midst now everything is terminal.  It will not last forever.  BUT in what God is preparing for us NOTHING will be terminal.

God is great.  I bask in the future I will have with Him.

“Lord, I love You.  Thank You for caring for me.  Thank You for the glowing future I will have.  I can’t imagine what You have prepared.   I am looking forward to the day I’m in Your midst.  Hallelujah!”

What an after-life He has planned for us!

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.