Do not!

“In your anger do not sin.  Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.”  Ephesians 4:26-27.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ecclesiastes 7-9, and Ephesians 4.

Plenty of “Do not’s” in today’s verses.

It is very important to evaluate my behavior.  I drift into destruction very easily.  Sometimes things are building up and I don’t realize it until entrenched trouble takes over.

Praying without ceasing makes perfect sense when it comes to fighting off the devil’s attempts to derail me from God.  I can’t pray very well in the midst of unkind words and/or deeds.  I can’t drive recklessly and then ask for God’s blessing.

I need to be clean with Him.  I need to be seeking Him all along my day.

I have had days where, after being hours into them, I wonder where my connection to God was during them.  I had begun, during those disconnected times, to float on my own wind.   Pure folly.

I need to be perpetually conscience that the enemy is lurking.  He begs for an opening.  He will figure out the weak spots and pour in if I’m not alert.  He must never be taken lightly.

“Lord, I need You every second of the day ahead.  I cling to You now.  Prick my conscience so that I can shore up my many weak spots in Your strength.  I love being directed connected to You.”

Are our defenses ready for the attacks of the devil?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.