Smartening up

“But the Lord has become my fortress, and my God the rock in whom I take refuge.”  Psalm 94:22.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ecclesiastes 10-12, Psalm 94, and Ephesians 5.

This speaks of someone who did not trust God before but now has seen the error of their ways.

I tend to learn the hard way on some things.  I know that if I stay up late that I will be tired the next day.  I know it but I will sometimes stay up late anyhow.

I know Who God is.  I know of His greatness and I know of His goodness to me.  BUT will I allow Him to be the One I trust?

There are many things to trust other than God: my pension, my insurance, my health, etc.  Those are counterfeit gods with an expiration date.

God is not going anywhere.  He will always be.

My trust must not be in flux.  In this verse, the Lord “has become” his fortress.  Those other things let him down.  He has now pledged his life to the One who is certain.

I must cling to God.  I must not let other gods have any foothold in my life.

The news is filled each day with demises of counterfeit gods.  I must not be guilty of clinging to any of them.

“Lord, I need You every second.  I cannot put my trust anywhere else.  I do not know my future.  I want my future to be filled with You so that I live right.  Help me, God, I beg.”

The Lord has become my fortress and I must live accordingly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.