How often should I pray?

“And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests.  With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.”  Ephesians 6:18.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Song of Solomon 1-4, and Ephesians 6.

Today’s verse answers that question, don’t you think?

The answers I see are “on all occasions” and “always.”

I have gotten comfortable with the suggested frequency, by praying for things as they happen.

When concerns come to mind I try to pray for them then.  No need to wait.  If alone, I will pray out loud.  If with others, I pray silently.

When I am not thinking about “concerns,” I have opportunity to pray for blessings.  The sun is shining.  My truck is working.  I’ve had a good meal.

Our tendency is to limit our prayers to the “big” things.  That, to me, is part-time praying.  If God is in life’s details, and He is, my praying can be frequent.

As I approach an event I am thinking about it.  Within that event are things to pray about.  I can be thankful for the opportunity.  I can pray for the folks who will be involved with me at the event. Numerous praying possibilities.

The opportunities for prayer are ongoing and endless.  I must move my prayer life to the full-time level.

“Lord, thank You for Ephesians.  Thank You for the practical suggestions about praying to You.  I must increase my frequency.  I want a non-stop relationship to You.  I love You.  Forgive me for being so easily consumed apart from You.  It is not where I want to be.  I love You, Lord.  I praise You, Father.”

I must increase my praying frequency.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.