Lose your anxiety

“The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:5-7.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 15, 2 Chronicles 13-14, and Philippians 4.

This is a hard one to live out, don’t you think?

What does our anxiety reveal about us?  With reference to today’s verses, it would imply that we haven’t trusted God enough.

This verse tells me that if I am trusting right, I will have God’s peace.  Note that it doesn’t say that we will always get what we want.

Therein is the hard part.  We present and petition and are persistent…….and then what we wanted doesn’t happen.  We become disappointed with God.  How shallow of us!

God does answer prayer.  He will give us exactly what we asked for OR its equivalent.  I don’t get the new car I wanted but I do get to ride with someone else.  Maybe not having a car or riding where I was going was God’s best for me.  Will I accept His Way?

Paul wrestled in this area regarding what he called, “the thorn in the flesh.”  Probably an ailment that was altering his lifestyle.  Later Paul writes of being content in whatever situation he’s in.  God is with him no matter what is going on.  And God knows best.

Good words for me.  My anxious moments are when I have rejected God’s answer to my prayer when it differs from my projected answer.

“Lord, correct me, I beg.  Forgive me for trusting me to give me peace.  My peace must be in Your Ways.  Show me what I need to do.  Deny me that which corrupts me.  Which lessens my hold on You.  I plead for Your Peace.  Help me to live within Your confines with rejoicing.”

My anxieties reveal spiritual deficiencies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Philippians

Comments are closed.