I will trust God

“Were not the Cushites and Libyans a mighty army with great numbers of chariots and horsemen?  Yet when you relied on the Lord, he delivered them into your hand.” 2 Chronicles 16:8.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 16, 2 Chronicles 15-16, Colossians 1.

It is an easy place to fall into: trusting God selectively.

Some things are so big that they are beyond God’s reach.

Some things are so small that we can handle them without His help.

Total folly involved in both ways of thinking.

I need God every second.  There are no “little” things or “too big” things with God.  Anytime I exclude God from my thinking is a mistake.

How often I generalize prayers in the early going of the day, “Lord, direct my path today so that I will always do Your Will.”  Sadly, as the day unravels I have lost connection to Him.  I have drifted into my own ways without consulting Him for guidance.

I must be filled with the Holy Spirit.  That filling is an ongoing thing.  It takes so little to slip away from Him.  Later, I wonder why I wasn’t more aware of Him.

“Lord, there are counterfeit gods that lure me away from You.  There is also an unwillingness on my part to hold on to You full-time.  I start the day wanting to but that hold doesn’t last as it should.  As a result, I miss so much of You.  I need You.  Take me over and prick my conscience when I am loose from You.  I love You, Father.”

Will I commit to full-time trust in God?

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.