How forgiving must I be?

“Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”  Colossians 3:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 20-21, 2 Chronicles 17, and Colossians 3.

What a lofty standard!

I can’t even fathom the Lord’s forgiveness of me.

That I can fathom what it even is to forgive someone, shows that my level of forgiveness is zilch compared to what He did for me.

It is so easy to justify being upset with someone.  Look what they did to me!  They had it coming!

I have often wished that I could collect my words before I said them to prevent saying something I shouldn’t.  It might also be nice to have time to recall the way I was forgiven by God when I deal with reactionary possibilities during the day.

But I don’t have either facility UNLESS I am filled with the Holy Spirit.  It would enable me to be like Him as I react to things that happen.

Since I often react poorly, it is a clear indication that I am often less-than-filled with the Holy Spirit.  That needs to change.

“Lord, fill me with You.  Take over every part of me.  Forgive me for sinning against You.  What love!  Your forgiveness is amazing.  Fill me with You now, I beg.”

What is my level of forgiveness?  Certainly not where it should be by a long shot!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Colossians

Comments are closed.