Are you impartial?

“How long will you defend the unjust and show partiality to the wicked?” Psalm 82:2.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Kings 1-3, Psalm 82, and 1 Timothy 1.

Someone does something wrong and you deem it to be horrible.  You do the same thing wrong and it’s not so bad.

Hypocrisy!  But we are all guilty of it.

I am troubled by the behavior of the political partisans in my life.  They easily rant about the antics of the opposing party but when someone on their side behaves similarly there is hardly a peep out of them.

Many of these folks isolate themselves from perspective by limiting their viewing to a confirming network.  Few mentions on those networks about the failings of their political party.

Today’s verse rails against such behavior.  God is very unhappy with it.

We need to be impartial.  If something is wrong, it is wrong for everyone.  God is not mocked.  He clearly sees our inconsistencies.

I must do what God wants in every situation.  If I am filled with His Holy Spirit I will get it right.

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for being better at seeing the sin in others’ lives instead of my own.  Forgive me for giving folks I favor a pass on things that You deem wrong.  Fill me with You.  Take me over, Father.”

Do we magnify the faults in others and minimize our own?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.