How to know if God is in control in your life

“For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love, and self-discipline.  So do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord….” 2 Timothy 1:7-8.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joel 1-3, and 2 Timothy 1.

If I have the Holy Spirit within me, I will not be timid.  This is one of many ways to get an accurate gauge of my spiritual condition: If I’m timid about representing Him then His Holy Spirit does not fully control me.

Look at the various means by which we share Him: powerfully, lovingly, and with self-discipline.  If you think that those are all the same, you’re not paying attention!

We need to have the three of them in our spiritual arsenal because we will face different situations which require different qualities on our part.

How important it is to be filled with Him!  How are we to know, on our own, what others need to get from us to direct them to the Gospel?  God only knows.

I believe that there are many opportunities to introduce folks in my midst to God.  My hesitancy reveals that I am limiting the Holy Spirit in my life.  Will I give up control of my life to Him?

“Lord, I want You to control every part of me.  I want You to equip me to rightly represent You in every situation.  The ability to ascertain the needs of others MUST be God-given and I want that ability.  I ask You now to take me over.  I love You, Lord.”

Am I timid in representing God?  Yes?  The Holy Spirit is being left out of parts of my life.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Timothy

Comments are closed.