Wake up!

“The captain went to him and said, ‘How can you sleep?  Get up and call on your god!’”  Jonah 1:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jonah 1-4, and 2 Timothy 2.

Jonah thought that he could run away from God.

He ran………but he couldn’t hide.

A serious storm came up and the captain was desperate.  He tells everyone to pray to their god and maybe something good will happen.

Jonah, however, had not only closed his mind to God’s wishes but he had also closed his eyes to what is going on around him.

When confronted to, “call on his god,” Jonah has a dilemma: He’s not on speaking terms with His God.

And therein is today’s lesson: Am I on speaking terms with God?  Are we close?  Are we communicating?

How fearful to be out of touch with God!

How dangerous to live without knowing His Will!

Aimless wandering, at its best.  A useless lifestyle with no landmark to move toward.

Credit Jonah for figuring out that he, indeed, was the reason for the trouble at sea.  He offered, as Jesus did later on, to give up his life to save others.

I give my life to God.

I take ownership of my sinfulness.

“Lord, thank You for the Jonah story.  So many lessons for me in it.  Forgive me for running from Your Will.  I want to please You by going where You want me to go.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Are you asleep and out of God’s Will?  How’s that working for you?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Jonah

Comments are closed.