I knew what I did was wrong

“I also raised up prophets from among your children….” Amos 2:11.

Today’s verse was chosen from today’s Bible reading: Amos 1-3, Psalm 86, and 2 Timothy 4.

We have a very good idea of what God wants us to do and not to do.

To feign ignorance just won’t cut it.

God’s Word is “crowded” with instructions.

Today’s verse tells me that God put His Words (condemning in Amos) into the mouths of familiar faces in order to inform them of what He wanted.

When Scripture tells me to be considerate and respectful to my wife, I can’t claim that I didn’t know how I was to behave.  And when I disobey God I shouldn’t be stunned when there are consequences.

There are so many stories in the Old Testament about God’s people zig zagging their way through a relationship with Him.  Sometimes they’re all in.  Other times they’re all out.  Kind of like us??

My life would be a lot less “ziggy” if I would maintain a close relationship to God.  The “ziggy” part does have one advantage, however, because it reveals very clearly to me the status of my spiritual condition.  I can claim to be Godly but my words/actions tell the real story.

I must be filled with the Holy Spirit.  There can’t be a word/thought/action that is not pre-immersed in Him.

“Lord, help me.  I need the full dose of You in me.  I want to please You in every word/thought/action today.  Prick my conscience (as you did yesterday!) when I am messing relationships up by my ungodliness.  I love You, Father, so much.  You have blessed me beyond measure.  Thank You, God.”

I know enough Scripture to know how to behave.  There are no excuses for my wayward behavior.

Leave a comment

Filed under Amos

Comments are closed.