I want more from you

“Stop bringing meaningless offerings!  Your incense is detestable to me.”  Isaiah 1:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 1-3, and Titus 3.

God knows my capabilities.

God also knows my motivation.

Picture a room needing cleaning.  There are “degrees” of cleaning.  I could make the surfaces look respectable………lessen the clutter.  But real cleaning is going to be more than that, isn’t it?  What’s in the drawers?  How about opening the closet?

God must say so often about me: “Who is he trying to kid with his thinking about his Godliness?  Him Godly? I know him better than he thinks.”

It is easy to fall into comparing ourselves (favorably) with others.  “I’m regularly reading the Bible and praying.  They aren’t.”  That would be more reason why I should be living out my beliefs!

It is easy to underestimate our sins and overestimate our virtues.  Which do we talk about first?  “I did this or that…..”  God sees all of us.

I am often disappointed with my relationship to God.  I want it to be full-time, and it is at times, but too often it is anything but full-time.

God wants MORE of me.  Will the gentleman yield?

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for fooling myself with my lukewarm Godliness.  You are not impressed with it.  I love You, Lord.  Fill me now with You, I ask.”

Are we willing to go all-in with God?  Lukewarm is detestable to Him.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Comments are closed.