What will get me in trouble with God?

“Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness, who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter.  Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes and clever in their own sight.” Isaiah 5:20-21.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 4-5, Psalms 115-116, and Jude.

There are innocent mistakes but there are also intentional ones.

We now live in a culture where things are becoming acceptable that are unacceptable, according to the Bible.  Things that are in black-and-white in the Word are not subject to any wiggle room.  Yet many folks are finding it.

Much of this connects to my perception of God.  If I believe that God is Absolute, then His Word enters that realm too.  Some things are clearly right while other things are clearly wrong.  There are no “situational” arrangements.

I get caught in the “thinking I’m wise” issue.  I make up my own rules after the fact to justify a behavior or thinking I may have.  God is not mocked.  He knows what I’m up to.  I want my way not His.

I must obey Him entirely.  I must accept what He has for me to do in the locale He wants me doing it.  I cannot assume a position that I create for myself.  It won’t be where He wants me to be!

“Lord, I want to be completely right with You.  I want to know Your Truth.  I want it to be the driver in my life.  Forgive me for making my own lifestyle assumptions and arrangements.  They aren’t of You.  Direct my path, I beg.  Show me Your Way.  Empower me on it, I ask.  You are my God.  Hallelujah!”

Are you in trouble with God?  Confess your way to restoration to Him.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Comments are closed.