Am I working at my relationship to God?

“Jotham grew powerful because he walked steadfastly before the Lord his God.”  2 Chronicles 27:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 6-7, 2 Chronicles 26-27, and Philemon.

I am always looking for “role model” material as a read through the Bible.  One of them showed up today in Jotham.

Note the secret to Jotham’s success: “he walked steadfastly before the Lord his God.”

Plenty for me to latch onto from Jotham’s example.

The word “steadfastly” is a synonym for “consistently.”  I am a believer with an inconsistent spiritual lifestyle.  I know plenty about what God wants me to do but trying to live it out consistently is a major struggle.

I find myself letting go of God.  I don’t do it deliberately, just often.  I look around, after a while, and wonder why I am drifting along apart from Him.

I do not want to be estranged from God and I know how glorious it is to be close to Him.  But in my weakness, I get loose from Him, and live to regret it.

Jotham’s relationship with God was steadfast.  I am certain that he was intentional about it.  Jotham didn’t drift through many days in a state of unawareness of God.  I do that too often!

My part-time job has ended for three months.  I am home and much more accountable for what I do and don’t do.  I don’t respond well to others holding me accountable.  I have many good intentions but I like to enact them on my terms.  That doesn’t always play well at home!  But where is God in all this?  I need to be steadfastly cultivating my relationship with God.  I need Him at the get-go, plus there must be plenty of interactions throughout the day with Him. I know what I need to do……….will I attach myself to it?

“Lord, thank You for parading role models past my eyes in Your Word.  I need to realize what separates me from You.  Help me to steadfastly follow You.  To be willing to go all-in in my relationship with You.  Forgive me for being so inconsistent at home.  Your Love must shine off me here.  Help me, Father.”

Do you pursue God “steadfastly?”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.