Where can I find help?

“When Ephraim saw his sickness, and Judah his sores, then Ephraim turned to Assyria, and sent to the great king for help.  But he is not able to cure you, not able to heal your sores.” Hosea 5:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Hosea 2-5, and Hebrews 2.

Duh!  Where’s God?  He hasn’t left.

Yet how often we turn for help elsewhere.

Do we take God for granted?  I would say that we do.

In a question-and-answer session, the believer would surely declare that God is with him/her. BUT when push comes to shove, help is too often sought elsewhere.

It is shameful for us to do that.  God is well aware of our behavior.  It makes me wonder how embarrassing I must be in God’s sight.  The things I do that even make me cringe must be totally distasteful to my Father.  And I have a history of such behavior!

I want to please Him in everything I do.  I say that so often yet quickly detect at day’s end that I have failed Him miserably.  It isn’t necessarily giant things but the steady dripping of sinful behavior.  Most of it has a selfish base to it………my way or prepare for godless reactions.

“Lord, there is no one like You.  How You can care for me boggles my mind.  I want my life to honor You consistently.  Forgive me for chasing solutions apart from You.  Gear me to a tight relationship to You now and throughout the rest of this day.  Forgive me for chasing accolades from others.  I must honor You PERIOD.  I love You, Lord.”

I must trust in God in ALL situations.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hosea

Comments are closed.