Name your sins

“Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts….”  Hebrews 3:7-8.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Hosea 6-9, and Hebrews 3.

God puts thoughts into my heart.  That’s why today’s verse means so much to me.

I will be reading something very familiar and suddenly I get an idea from it that hadn’t occurred to me before.  To me, that is God “voice” reaching out to me.

In reading Hosea and Hebrews today I thought about sin and how it is a major issue with God.  But that wasn’t the end of it.  I thought about my own sinfulness and how I generalize that sinfulness.

In the Lord’s prayer, there is a section in which I ask God to forgive me of my sins.  All familiar to me.  But the thought came to me today was that I need to identify my sins.  Give them names.  Call them out.  Why?  Because by getting specific I can check back to see if they still are occurring.  I not only want to identify them but I also want to end them in my life.

Why do I continue to commit the same sins?  Maybe it is because I have not asked God to deliver me from something specific.  Recall the blind man.  “Lord, have mercy on me,” he cried.  Jesus said to him, “What do you want me to do for you?”  Jesus was asking the man to hone in on his need because he did indeed have a specific need that He could do something about.

I have issues going on that I can be specific about.  I can tell God what I want Him to do for me……remove this specific sin.

“Lord, I thank You for Your help.  Forgive me for missing what You want me doing.  I want to get it right but so often stumble off into foolishness.  I want my life to please You.  There are specific sins that MUST stop.  I pray about them specifically now.  I love You, Lord.

Why do we generalize our sinfulness?  Is that our way of minimizing them?

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.