Is a Christian safer in North Korea or the United States?

“Those who trusted in Cush and boasted in Egypt will be dismayed and put to shame.”  Isaiah 20:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 19-21, and Hebrews 11.

Same old.  Same old.

If my trust is misplaced then I will, at some point, suffer the consequences.

How flimsy is our hold on what goes on!

When my granddaughter went to Korea for a week recently, I realized how fragile life is.  Knowing that nearby North Korea had a leader claiming to have long-range equipment and a hatred for the United States, was cause for serious concern.  My fear reflected my trust in protection for her that was tenuous because of where she was.

When she returned to the US safely my concerns for her safety lessened, but is she really safer here?  If I think so, then I am continuing to trust in something other than God.

With God in charge, I should know two things: (1) danger exists wherever she is, and (2) God is everywhere.  My trust level in Him needs to stabilize.

Trusting counterfeit gods is not a new thing.  Today’s verse referred to folks trusting countries to take care of them.  It didn’t work then and it doesn’t work now.

My current existence can be shattered in an instant.  I cannot become “comfortable” because of the counterfeit gods I give trust to.  I must be comfortable in knowing that I am God’s child and that though conditions can fluctuate He will not.  His love protects me and enables me to weather the storms of this life.

“Lord, I place my total trust in You.  I give You me.  I surrender my will so that it is in synch with You.  Lead me.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.  I love You, Father.”

My sense of God being my refuge must be the same whether I’m in North Korea or the United States.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Comments are closed.