Do you disrespect God?

“Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our ‘God is a consuming fire.’”  Hebrews 12 28-29.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 22-24 and Hebrews 12.

I note three behaviors in these verses that need to be in place for believers; thankfulness, reverence, and awe.

The world we live in is fragile.  Not only that, it is going to pass away when Jesus returns.  The kingdom that will then be set up will be imperishable and those who have believed the Good News and acted accordingly will live in that marvelous setting.

Woe to those who have their hopes set in our current world.  This world will perish including those who cling to it.

So, we must be thankful for the arrangements that are in place for our us when life in this current world ends.  We have a terrific future.

How do we see God?  Do we treat Him as our equal?  Are we disrespectful of Him in how we talk?  Live?

I think that if I was in God’s presence in the after-life I would have nothing to say.  I would be overwhelmed.  Why?  Life would be perfect.  My only possible words would have to be praise for what He has done for me.

When I come into His presence now, how do I act?  Am I reverent?  Am I awe-struck?  Often not.  I refused to realize that He is in charge.  I refuse to credit Him with what He has done for me.  I am irreverent and flip.  He is not someone working on my house to which I might speak a few kind words to.  He is Almighty God!

“Lord, forgive me for minimizing Who You are.  You are the great God.  You know what is best.  I thank You for Your Love for me a sinner.  Forgive me for approaching You casually.  You are awe worthy.  Your Works are all around me.  Open my thinking to You.  Help me to love others as You have loved me.  Forgive my indiscretions.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

God is not your chum.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.