Comfort zone

“Let us, then, go to him outside the camp, bearing the disgrace he bore.  For here we do not have an enduring city, but we are looking for the city that is to come.”  Hebrews 13:13-14.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 25-28, and Hebrews 13.

We slide and glide through life.

We are believers in our minds but only closet believers in reality.

We fool ourselves BUT God is not mocked.  He watches us in action.

Like Abraham, we are one thing in private and another in public.  Abraham builds altars to God and yet when forced to go to Egypt because of a famine he betrays his affiliation with God by his actions.  He urges his wife to lie and he betrays his relationship to her.

We do the same in our own way.  We sit in our studies and read, write, and pray.  We’re close to God.  BUT then we go where the godless are and slide shamelessly into their ways.  We complain.  We backstab.  We act like them!  And God sees us.

Today’s verses chide us.  They tell us to follow Him no matter where we are.  We are to come away from our comfortable settings spiritually and venture WITH THAT SAME SPIRITUALITY into troubled waters.

We would have to be fully trusting Him to pull that off, wouldn’t we!  No Sunday church, Tuesday Bible study relationship will work.

But He calls us to it.  When Jesus calls we had better be listening and heeding if we want His blessing.

“Lord, Your Word is powerful.  Without You I am powerless.  Forgive me for being a situational believer.  In some places, I speak Your Name.  In other places, I hold back.  I want Godly consistency in my life.  I cling to You.  Enable me to live taken over my You in all situations this day.  I love You, Father.”

Only in His Strength can I be consistently Godly.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.