Do you listen twice as much as you speak?

“Come near, you nations, and listen; pay attention, you peoples!  Let the earth hear, and all that is in it, the world, and all that comes out of it!” Isaiah 34:1.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 32-35, and James 2.

Is your hearing as bad as mine it?

I am not talking about my ability to detect sound.  I am talking about listening to what is said.

I ran into this topic yesterday in James 1.  I was advised to be “quick to listen.”  That’s not me!  I listen selectively and respond profusely!

Today in Isaiah, the hearing thing is back.  The instruction is to hear and pay attention to what I am hearing.  Again, for me, an adventure for sure.

It is remarkable how smart other people become when we decide to hear them out.  No interruptions.  Just let them finish their thoughts.  Sometimes their best stuff is at the end of what they’re telling me.  By listening selectively and barging in before they’re finished I regularly miss the best they have to offer.

It has been said that God gave us two ears and one mouth so that we would listen twice as much as we speak.  Good advice.

“Lord, Your Word is sharp.  I feel the point today.  I must quicken my listening skills.  I want to hear better.  I want to learn via hearing.  I want to hear You and some of that hearing from You will come to me through others.  Forgive me for being so impulsive in conversations.  I know better.  I love You, Lord.  Guide me, I beg, this day.”

I must let others seek my opinion before offering it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Comments are closed.