My ears are sealed!

“They would not listen, however, but persisted in their former practices.”  2 Kings 17:40.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Kings 17, 2 Chronicles 28, Psalm 46, and James 3.

There has been a run of three days with verses connected to listening.  Coincidence?  No way!

If I am not listening then I will mess things up.

I have told myself lately that the best part of what someone is telling is the ending.  I must let them get to that point.  Tuning out, butting in, must be avoided.

The consequence for the Israelites was severe.  God told them over and over what NOT to do.  They ignored Him.  They heard but didn’t heed.  They tuned God out.  How pitiful!

I need to hear from God.  I believe that He speaks to me through others.  They have His Words for me.  I can’t gear my listening intensity on my assessment of the speaker.

James 3 talks of the struggles of taming the tongue.  From where I’m coming from lately, the key to taming the tongue is to upgrade my listening.  My tongue goes off on tangents because I haven’t gathered all the information available.  I haven’t completely listened.  I’ve heard what I wanted to hear and my reaction was based on that limited input.

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for missing Your Messages from others by listening to them poorly.  Open my hearing to You.  I surrender to You.  Take every part of me over.  I love You, Lord.”

Are you giving God a chance to speak to you through others?

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 KIngs

Comments are closed.