Why am I so gloomy?

“Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.”  1 Peter 1:8-9.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 36-37, Psalm 76, and 1 Peter 1.

Are you in a funk?

Are the world’s cares getting you down?

If you are a believer, you may have taken your eyes off the Big Picture, as described in today’s two verses.

Today’s verses state that we should be filled with, “an inexpressible and glorious joy.”  How are you doing on that?  Same for me.

I take my eye off the end game.  I win in the end!  Jesus returns and a new earth is set up.  Nothing in that new earth will wear out including my body.

I enjoy watching repeats of major sporting events in which the teams I follow have won.  I sit there so relaxed.  Not a care in the world even if there are some letdowns within the game.  Why?  I know the ending!

Am I willing to live as if I know the ending?  Or will I continue to get gloomy over the letdowns along the way to that glorious ending?

“Father, forgive me for concentrating on the here and now and losing track of what will be.  You will return. The result will be glorious to say the least.  I love You, Lord.”

I must see beyond the hurdles and live accordingly.  There is a bright future.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Peter

Comments are closed.