The best promises in the Bible?

“Shout for joy, you heavens; rejoice, you earth; burst into song, you mountains!  For the Lord comforts his people and will have compassion on his afflicted ones. BUT Zion said, ‘The Lord has forsaken me, the Lord has forgotten me.’  ‘Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne?  Though she may forget, I will not forget you!  See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands, your walls are ever before me.’”  Isaiah 49:13-16.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 46-49, and 1 Peter 5.

What great comfort!

God has our back……..and our front.

We are not on our own.  We are His children.  He’s got His eyes on us.  Somehow able to sort out billions of folks.  What a God!

I am told specifically in 1 Peter 5:7 to “cast my cares on Him.”  Why would I not do that?  Why would I choose to carry concerns alone?  I think that it is because of a fluctuating relationship with God.  I must be consistently tied to Him.

How often we relegate God to the human level.  We lose track of things, so He must.  We forget things, so He must.  Doesn’t happen!  He is omnipresent and all those other “omni” words.  We can relax in Him.

How does a “cared-for” person act?  I certainly want the caregiver to sense my support.  “How can I make this go better?”  I have a part to play but oh how wonderful to know that God is on the other end of the care giving.  I must relax in total awareness of having Him with me.  Does it get any better than that?

“Lord, Your nearness is wonderful. Forgive me for trusting other gods of my own making.  Today’s verse contain a specific promise of Your nearness to me.  Wow!  I love You, Father.”

Are there any better promises in Scripture?

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Comments are closed.