Misguided energy

“You wearied yourself by such going about, but you would not say, ‘It is hopeless.’  You found renewal of your strength, and so you did not faint.”  Isaiah 57:10.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 57-59, Psalm 103, and 2 Peter 3.

Ever consider the amount of energy we expend on things that are worthless?  No pleasant thoughts there!

I will sometimes finish reading something or finish watching something on TV and think, “What was I doing wasting my time with that garbage?”

However, even though I called myself out on those occasions there is a very good chance that I will find more garbage is the usual places.  I know better but will I react preventively?

The folks written of in Isaiah not only did wrong but they were energized by it.  They didn’t realize that they were wasting their lives and couldn’t get enough of the evil they were into.

Having the Holy Spirit within us is a great help.  If I am surrendered to the Holy Spirit, I will feel guilty in sin.  I will want to avoid it.  It is only when the Holy Spirit is excluded from parts of my life that evil gets openings.

“Father, I beg You to prick my conscience before I get into evil and emphatically when I am into evil.  I want none of it going on but I am weak and sinful.  Direct my path.  Show me where to go.  Show me what to avoid.  I love You, Father.”

How much of our energy is wasted on godless pursuits?

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Comments are closed.