Why am I not getting the recognition I deserve?

“They came to John and said to him, ‘Rabbi, that man who was with you on the other side of the Jordan – the one you testified about – look, he is baptizing, and everyone is going to him.” John 3:26.

“He must become greater; I must become less.”  John 3:30.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Isaiah 65-66, Psalm 62, and John 3.

Nice role model work by John the Baptist.

How many of us would respond the way he did?

John was getting all sorts of notoriety.  People were flocking out to where he was to listen to him.  Some of them ended up getting baptized by him.  He had disciples.

And then along comes Jesus.  John identifies Jesus as someone special and then yields his notoriety and even some of his followers to Jesus.

John accepts his lesser role with joy!  That is remarkable.

Many of us struggle when confronted by people who are better at things than we are.  We want to be the best.  We want to be the one that people listen to and learn from.  Then along comes someone smarter and we sulk.  How wrong of us!

Our task is to do what God calls us to do as John the Baptist did.  He recognized that God is making the arrangements and that He does it best.

I must do what God had called me to do as unto Him.  I must not do it as unto me!

“Lord, convicting verses today.  Thank You.  Enable me to serve You where You have placed me.  Enable me to be flexible in the ways I serve You so that I stop craving accolades and just do what You want as unto You. I love You, Father.”

I must do what God wants in the setting He has placed me.  I must crave His “well done’s” not the world’s.

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.