Now what?

“Later Jesus found him at the temple and said to him, ‘See, you are well again. Stop sinning or something worse may happen to you.’”  John 5:14.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Nahum 1-3, and John 5.

The man had been healed physically now he needed a spiritual healing.

His body was now right.  His next task was to get his heart right.

Maybe in his illness he had been unpleasant and profane.  He could have been vile and loud.

That, if indeed true, had been his past.  He needed to become Godly.

How easy for us to behave badly and hope that others will make excuses for us.  Our conditions are not an excuse for godlessness.

People may have ignored this man because of his behavior.  He may have said regrettable things.  Now it was time for restoration of relationships.  He would have to go back and ask for forgiveness.

Jesus implies that if the man wouldn’t go back and clean up the messes he had made then some bad things could come his way.

I mess things up.  Do I want to wait until things get better or do I want restoration?  Waiting is the least embarrassing approach but it is not the Godly way.

God knows what we do.  He knows when we get things wrong and He pricks our consciences about those wrongs.  Now what?  Do my part to get things right and do it right away.  The discomfort of alienation needs to end.

“Lord, I need to move on with You.  I need to clean up messes instead of hoping they will disappear on their own.  I need You full-time.  Continue to prick my conscience when I get things wrong and get after me to seek restoration.  I want to live clean with You.”

What are we doing to clean up the messes we’ve made?   Waiting or taking initiative?

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.