Josiah gets it

“Go and inquire of the Lord for me and for the people and for all Judah about what is written in this book that has been found.  Great is the Lord’s anger that burns against us because those who have gone before us have not obeyed the words of this book; they have not acted in accordance with all that is written there concerning us.”  2 Kings 22:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading; 2 Kings 22, 2 Chronicles 34, and John 6.

What a shock for King Josiah!

Those assigned to clean up the temple find the Book of the Law.  They bring the book to Josiah and read some of it to him.  Josiah can’t believe his ears as he realizes that those before him have angered God and worse yet their bad judgment will bring judgment on him and his people too.

What to do?  Josiah tears his robe in an announcement that wrong has been done.  He recognizes sin in those before him.

Josiah doesn’t ask God to change His mind regarding the punishment but God does anyhow.

I like the decisiveness of Josiah.  When sin is detected, Josiah recognizes it for what it is and understands the consequences.

I am a sinner.  I must clearly understand that truth.  When I think of myself as, “pretty good,” I am elevating myself to not deserving the punishment sinning earns me.  ONE sin makes me eligible for God’s eternal wrath!

How thankful I am that God took care of my sin problem.  He sent Jesus to earth to die in my place with my sins on Him.  Those sins are removed from my record!  I am in the clear on Judgment Day.  I stand innocent before God because I believe that Jesus took care of my sins for me.  Hallelujah.

“Lord, fill me with instant concern over my sins.  Let them not hide out in my subconscious.  Surface them so that I can identify them and claim Your forgiveness.  Thank You for recording Josiah’s example.  I love You, Lord.”

We must realize sin, deal with it, and move on.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 KIngs

Comments are closed.