Regular cleaning required

“He came to Simon Peter, who said to him, ‘Lord, are you going to wash my feet?’ Jesus replied, ‘You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.’  ‘No,’ said Peter, ‘you shall never wash my feet.’  Jesus answered, ‘Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.’ ‘Then, Lord, ’Simon Peter replied, ‘not just my feet but my hands and my head as well!’” John 13:6-9.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 7-9, and John 13.

I need to be clean before God and He has done that for me.  How?  He had Jesus die for my sins.  My sins and their consequence no longer exist.  I am completely in the clear on Judgment Day.

But life on earth goes on and so does my sinning.  I must not be oblivious to my need of on-earth cleansing of my ongoing sinning.  What should I do?  When I sin, as a believer, I am almost always conscious of it.  An example for me is that I know that I shouldn’t have responded the way I did.  I recognize it for what it is, sin, and ask God to forgive me…….which He promises to do.

If I allow sin to fester within me, then I am unclean before Him and I know it.  Jesus is telling Peter that he needs to routinely cleanse himself before God.  He needs to own up to his sinfulness and seek forgiveness (washing).  If Peter chooses not to do something about his sinfulness, then he is behaving as someone would who doesn’t even believe who God is.

“Alert me, Father, to my sins.  Some I know about and some I am unaware of.  I want to be clean before You.  I don’t want to carry any sin “baggage.”  I am still amazed by Your grace to me.  How You can love a sinner, and an ongoing one at that, defies logic.  Thank You, Father.”

Regular cleaning before God is the best hygiene.

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.