I have no friends

“I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business.  Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”  John 15:15.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Jeremiah 13-15, and John 15.

A believer is never friendless, according to today’s verse.  That’s good enough for me!

I do not have many friends.  I have a cellphone that receives few calls.  Message are rare except for solar panels and things like that.

But I do have One certain friend: Jesus.  I am not out of His “loop.” I am an insider.

Friends know each other’s business.  They know habits and family and plenty in between.

I am bonded to God.  I have committed my life to Him.  I am His follower.  I know of His behavioral patterns. That’s because we are friends.

BUT could I know Him better.  Certainly, but how?  Spend more time in active communion with Him.  I think of how often I am unaware of Him.  How dare I ignore my best Friend?

“Lord, forgive me for lessening my pursuit of a better friendship with You.  I need that friendship.  I need an awareness of Your closeness to me and of Your interest in me.  You are watching what I do.  You are looking for devotion from me.  A casual acquaintance is not a friend.  Forgive my casualness, I beg.  Help me to work harder at improving our friendship. I love You.”

What a friend we have in Jesus………..

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.