Setting ourselves up for humiliation

“Now I, praise and exalt and glorify the King of heaven, because everything he does is right and all his ways are just.  And those who walk in pride he is able to humble.”  Daniel 4:37.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Daniel 3-4, Psalm 81, and Revelation 17.

Talk about figuring it out!

Nebuchadnezzar went from being a grazer to a praiser!

If you recall, the king’s dream was interpreted by Daniel.  What the dream meant concerned Daniel and he told Nebuchadnezzar to change his ways so that the dire consequences wouldn’t come about.  Nebuchadnezzar, how went in the opposite direction crediting himself for the splendor of Babylon.

God’s promise came true and Nebuchadnezzar had seven years to “chew” on where his pride had led him.

Nice story but let’s make it personal.  I have nothing that God hasn’t given me.  How dare I think that I’m meriting good things.  I am a sinner.  Only a God of Love could look past my sins and bless me.  And He has!

The better I see God the better I see myself in comparison.  I’m a hanger-on, at best.  I live by His grace.  I have family, friends, possessions, health etc.. by His grace.  How dare I ever credit myself as deserving of any of it.

Nebuchadnezzar went from prideful to humble in a noticeable way.  He got it right.  Will I do the same?

“Lord, You have given me every good gift.  And those gifts are not all even known to me.  Why do You love me so?  Forgive me for assigning myself, in thought or word, credit for what actually is Your undeserved goodness to me.  I love You, Father.”

Good luck with that, “It’s all about me,” thinking.

hw-912

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Daniel

Comments are closed.